Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Our Family

Here's a little introduction to our family........

Hubby  My husband of 16 plus years. He is my best friend, and one of the few people who knows all about me, and still loves me.  He works a very stressful trucking job with lots of hours, but makes every effort to be with his family when he is off.

Buddy 11 Our oldest child who joined our family through domestic infant adoption when he was 9 months old.  He is an excellent big brother who has a tender heart, and his fathers hard work ethic.

Peekachoo  9 He joined our family through domestic infant adoption when he was 8 days old. He rarely holds still, loves a challenge, and can be very hard to keep busy.  He has unusual patience for crying babies, and has helped me walk the floor with his younger siblings more than once.

Mr. Man 4  He and his younger biological brother joined our family through adoption through foster care when he was 20 months.  He is serious beyond his years, and very responsible for a child his age.  He has a gentle spirit that is very easy to reach.

Chipmunk 3  He was 9 months old when he joined our family through adoption through foster care.  He is a strong-willed sweetheart. He LOVES babies, and is so gentle with them.  He loves to get a reaction good, or bad, from anyone and everyone.

Sugar Pea 22 months  She joined our family at birth and is a biological sister to Mr. Man, and Chipmunk.    She is the slightly bossy Princess of the family.  She has taken it upon herself to keep all her brothers in line, and she rules with a chubby fist.  She loves anything pretty, and is a die-hard "momma's girl."

Noah 6 months  Is our "surprise" biological baby.  He is happy, and mellow.  Likes to smile, LOVES his siblings, and HATES having his nose wiped.

Rebecca  I write the blog posts, change the diapers, dry the tears, homeschool, cook the meals, clean the house, and a lot of other things that aren't worth writing about.  I love my family.  We're a little unconventional, we sometimes fly by a different set of rules because of our background, but we have a lot of fun.

If you're new to Chicken Scratchings you may be wondering why I don't post our adopted childrens names, and pictures.  This is to protect them, and also to protect us.  We are licensed foster parents, and because of that certain details can't be shared unless I would make my blog private.

I love getting questions from my readers, but on occasion I get a question that I can't answer publicly.  If that happens I will try to tell you, or email you privately with the answer.


  1. And "she rules with a chubby fist." Love that!

  2. I think all your family is Abdolutely lovely and you live grieat moments :))

  3. Your house sounds very much like mine. My boys are 13,11,7,&5. My princess in cleats is 3 going on 17. (She may or may not be able to keep the whole gang in line.) I'm curious where you're from but maybe that is classified info too. I understand.

    1. I'm from midwestern Michigan. Lived here all my life with the exception of a couple months in college, and the first 1 1/2 years after we were married.

  4. Very nice family! How is the house hunting coming along?


Please comment I love hearing from you!